The Story of a Royal Caribbean’s Sous Chef

Original Article by Lora Waugh for Hospitality Careers
Posted Monday, October 15, 2012

Allow me to introduce Sous Chef Nicholas Loshak. He is a culinary magician onboard the Royal Caribbean’s Oasis of the Seas—a 220,000 gross ton ship providing for 5,400 passengers on 16 decks— the world’s largest cruise ship. Guests are spellbound by the choice of eateries ranging from exclusive restaurants, to spa cuisine and quaint bistros.

I asked Nicholas to tell me a little about himself.

“I am 54 years old and feeling 35,” He answered. “I am single and have two children aged 19 and 12. Although born in England, I am now a Canadian and live in Kingston, Ontario. I went to college in London, England at the Walthamstow College of Catering and did my apprenticeship at Lloyds of London and the Dorchester Hotel under Chef Anton Mossiman.”

Nicholas explained how he began his career.

“My first job managing a kitchen was in Canada after finishing college and working in England. It was a small French restaurant. I was only 22 and feeling nervous. I worked as sous chef for a year; then I became a chef. The job was exhilarating. I made some mistakes, more in the costing and inventory side of the business, but I picked up the procedures quickly. After my stay in Canada, I worked in Switzerland for two years and formalized my culinary training.”

Sous Chef Nicholas and Team.1Nicholas has many duties. He is the link between the staff and management; he reports to the Executive Sous Chef, the Executive Chef, and interacts with other sous chefs. He is in charge of ordering, budgeting, and stock rotation for a productive and efficient kitchen. Sous Chef Nicholas ensures that kitchen staff are working well and having the right schedule. He guarantees that quality is up to standard. He delegates tasks, acts as a role model, attends tasting for the evening meal and helps the guests with dining choices.

I was curious to know what top three skills or qualities every sous chef must have to excel. Nicholas was clear on this point.

“You have to be a good teacher, manager, and coach,” he said. “The top three skills for a sous chef within the company are motivation, knowledge, and experience. A good mentor teaches, garners, and promotes respect to nurture a successful team. I do not believe that diverse cultures are a barrier to having a great team. We are all human! Whatever the culture, this still holds true.”

I asked Nicholas what he enjoyed most about his job.

“I have always loved cooking! I have been cooking at home since I was eight. Cooking comes from the heart, it gives me a way to express myself, and it allows me to travel. I read to find original ideas but what’s thrilling is to put a new twist on them.”

I asked what happens when the chef is absent.

RCCL - Oasis of the Seas1“The chefs absence should make no difference in the way a sous chef works.  He must know the strengths and weaknesses of people in the galley. Knowing these qualities, he will put the right people in the right places and ensure they fulfill their tasks. The staff’s respect is central for success.”

Nicholas explained the secrets of signature dishes.

“For me, a signature dish is synonymous with the artist. You create a dish. People ask for it, the dish becomes well-known and grows into a signature dish. A signature dish changes with the times. The chef will try new techniques, see new cuisines, and meet folks with new ideas. I think most chefs will have multiple signature dishes. My favourite recipes are my own creations.”

I was curious to learn the history of the famous white uniform and hat.

“A chef’s uniform is white — the best colour to reflect the heat. In Roman days, the chef was a treasured slave. The chef’s hat came about with the decline of the Roman Empire when Romans hid the chefs in Greek monasteries. Priests wore tall black hats; they gave the chefs white hats to distinguish them from the clergy.”

I asked Nicholas what he does to relax from the job.

“I enjoy travelling and meeting people,” he said. “I am interested in chess, table tennis, skiing, crosswords, and music.”

Always fuelled by his interest in people, Sous Chef Nicholas has found a winning combination of work, learning, and world travel. Thanks to him and his colleagues, we can experience the art of culinary magic. “The whole journey on the Oasis of the Seas is a great challenge, and without a challenge, you don’t grow.”

Work with Royal Caribbean! Browse their open positions on Hcareers.com.

One thought on “The Story of a Royal Caribbean’s Sous Chef

Leave a comment